Skip to content

Contemplating art.

September 2, 2011

We took the week off to enjoy the final days of summer. It’s hard to believe that it’s already September. I’ve been spending some time trying to finish up my apartment, and I have a large wall that is calling for some large art.

I used to have a gallery wall on this wall, but I tired of the trend and dismantled it a few months ago, and have been taking my time looking for a piece of art that really speaks to me. Some art I’m considering:

I love the retro vibe of Poolside Gossip by Slim Aarons, and there is something so eery but also chic about this shot that I just can’t get enough of.

This photograph by Jessica Marchetti is a top contender. I am in love with old architecture, and right now I’m having a moment with Parisian rooftops. The moodiness of the sky, and the perfect, straight on shot and symmetry are right up my alley. I have a large vintage mirror hanging across from where my new art will go, and I love the idea that when looking in the mirror it will appear that this beautiful scene would be just outside my window. A girl can dream, right?

I’ve always loved this 20×200 image, but it’s sold out, so it’s not going on my wall.

I fell in L.O.V.E. with the gorgeous work by Roberto Dutesco about 5 years ago when I was at a yoga event in the Donna Karan warehouse with the Dalai Lama. This photo was being auctioned off and I couldn’t stop thinking about it for a long time. In fact, it’s haunted me ever since, I’ve seen it everywhere, but it will never get old to me. (PS did you know that the Dalai Lama is on twitter? Follow him.) And speaking of horses, if you love them as much as I do (or even if you don’t, but you just want to end animal cruelty), please help get them off the streets of New York and sign this petition.

Also, speaking of gallery walls, though, here is a fun installation in the works…

PS for a throwback, read one of our early posts about gallery walls.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

